Truck Accessories Direct Pro Dog Grooming Supplies (Forum, Chat Tips & More) Horse Grooming Supplies (Free Shipping on orders over $50)
Go Back   Horse Forums (HGS) > Horse Chat

Outdoor Lighting
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2004, 04:40 AM   #1
Senior Member+
 
Lucky Duck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,357
Images: 58
Internet horse buying scam??

I have heard that there have been horse-buying scams going on... I am currently selling a horse and have her advertised on the internet. I got an e-mail that just asked for the lowest price I would go and for my address... do you think this is a scam? Wouldn't a serious buyer want more info?
Lucky Duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Our Sponsors
Old 07-26-2004, 04:49 AM   #2
Senior Member+
 
madvoice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Humpty Doo, Northern Territory, Australia
Posts: 11,321
Images: 281

With internet advertising you can't ever be too careful. Send a reply courteously asking for more details from the potential buyer to clarify that they're bonafide.
__________________
Sep 1997 - 15 Jan 2006 ~Fry Baby I'll Miss You~
I'm not a complete idiot.. Some parts are missing
Owner of a lazy TB
This is my shiny thing, and if you try and take it off me, I may have to eat you!
madvoice is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 05:12 AM   #3
Senior Member+
 
shell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Great North West
Posts: 9,535
Images: 298
Blog Entries: 12

I have a horse for sale on line too. I have gotten a lot of e-mails like that too. If it seems as if they didn't even read the ad, I feel it is a scam. If they ask for the "lowest price" without wanting more info about the horse through a few e-mails first, I think it is a scam. When you get a honestly interested person, they ask good questions about the horse and are more specific also.
__________________
“Look, what a horse should have
he did not lack,
save a proud rider on so proud back.”
-Shakespear
Keep track of Denali: Journey of a doomed horse
shell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 06:45 AM   #4
Banned
 
Paintlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,575
I agree, I was selling a saddle online and this guy from england offered me a $5000 check, and I send my saddle plus what I didn't use of the $5000 in shipping, etc. I told him to go away!
Paintlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 06:58 AM   #5
Senior Member+
 
cassidy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: england - its sunny sometimes honest!
Posts: 21,789
Images: 843

i think its probably worth a try maybe email him back he may just wanna no a price before he asks more questions as that is a main issue for some people!
__________________
bluebell , haribo , william & lil bill
May your life be like toilet paper - Long and useful

A horse doesn't care how much you know until he knows how much you care.
- Pat Parelli

http://www.freewebs.com/linz88055/myprofile.htm
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 06:59 AM   #6
Senior Member+
 
cassidy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: england - its sunny sometimes honest!
Posts: 21,789
Images: 843

if your to worried about scams y not take your horse of the et an advertise elsewhere
__________________
bluebell , haribo , william & lil bill
May your life be like toilet paper - Long and useful

A horse doesn't care how much you know until he knows how much you care.
- Pat Parelli

http://www.freewebs.com/linz88055/myprofile.htm
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 07:04 AM   #7
Banned
 
Paintlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,575
I had a price and description on the site - cassidy. Usually people want to talk to you on the telephone before they send out a $5000 check!
Paintlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 07:07 AM   #8
Senior Member+
 
Sandra-A1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,170
Images: 257

Just remember to never let your animal or merchandise leave your place until your bank tells you the check or money order cleared and they have your money there!!!

I always wondered why people never asked for the money to be wired to them...you know...use Western Union?.....are they still in business???
__________________
"It is our choices Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." ~Dumbledore
Sandra-A1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 07:30 AM   #9
Banned
 
Paintlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,575
They are still in business. And the guy kept saying 'WE will send you a check' 'WE will do this and that'. You'd have to see the post, it was really fishy
Paintlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 07:46 AM   #10
Senior Member+
 
Lucky Duck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,357
Images: 58
I e-mailed him back and politely told him I would take offers and sent my zip code if he was looking to price transport.
Lucky Duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Our Sponsors
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A little on Horse and Human relationships CanadianWrangler Horse Training 13 03-19-2008 12:26 PM
2 canter questions clashkid47 Horse Chat 19 12-08-2006 09:36 PM
Horse Buying & Selling Scams! Rita22 Horse Chat 19 12-05-2004 12:33 PM
Downward transitions emsNkeeper Horse Training 7 10-05-2004 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:10 PM.


SEO by vBSEO ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - Horse Grooming Supplies
One of the largest message boards on the web !